Bennett leads standouts at Dragon Open

Jabari Bennett hit an automatic qualifying mark in the shot put in the Dragon Open.
Jabari Bennett hit an automatic qualifying mark in the shot put in the Dragon Open.
Tiffin University's men's track and field team hit an automatic and 8 provisional marks at the annual Tiffin Dragon Open.
The Dragons were led by Jabari Bennett, who hit an automatic NCAA qualifying mark with a big throw of 18.10 meters. Nikolas Curtiss placed second with a provisional mark of 17.72m and was followed by Eric Jackson (16.04m).  Kyle Stump finished next (15.89m) and Cameron Elma finished 5th with 15.01m.
Other provisional marks were hit by Davis Bowers in winning the pole vault (4.84m), and Cameron Burrows won in the high jump with a provisional mark of 2.10m. Toryko Grace won in the weight throw with a provisional mark of 19.77m followed by Tristen Durr, who placed 2nd and hit the provisional mark (18.86m). Nikolas Curtiss was 3rd in the weight throw with another provisional mark of 18.28m, followed by Lovell Peterson for another provisional mark of 17.96m.
Errik Snell also hit an NCAA provisional mark with an 8.02 time in the 60 hurdles, good for first place, while Baker also blasted across the line 1st in 6.81 in the 60 meters for another provisional mark. Baker also won in the 200 meters with 22.54.
TU got other first-place finishes from Quincy Scott, who won the long jump in 6.90m, while Drew Hickman won in the 400 meters with 49.40.  Tyler Stumber won in the Triple Jump with a 13.36m leap and he also placed 5th in the long jump (6.35m).
Richard Vanboxel finished second in the Pole Vault (4.69m) and Dorian Holida finished 2nd in the long jump (6.82m). Robert Taylor finished runner up in the Triple Jump with a 13.11m distance while Tajarie Arthurton got 2nd place in the 60 meters run with 6.90. He also finished 5th in the 200 meters. Chance Abbitt finished 2nd in the 400 meters (50.57). 
Third place finishes were by Cameron Burrows (Pole Vault), Zachary Antonio (long jump), Wavell Hinds (60 Hurdles), Brandon Lynn (400 meters), and Jaelin Williams (Triple Jump).
Fourth place finishers were by Zion Cross (200 meters), Wan'ya Williams (60 meters), Steven Mintz (Triple Jump), Collin Jasin (Pole Vault) and Elijah Gauldin finished 5th in the 60 meters.
The 4000 DMR team of Stephen Korir, Isaac Boateng, Richard Wynn, and Josh Jaster also crossed the line in first with a time of 10:49.71, while TU's B team finished 3rd in DMR (Oren, Hunt, Runco, and Hill). TU's 4x400m relay also won, as the team of Abbitt, Lynn, Robinson, and Robins posted a time of 3:27.05.